Trinity Emerge as Schools T20 champs

Apr - 12 - 2011
T. Weerasooriya

Trinity Emerge as Schools T20 champs

Trinity College Kandy clinched the Munchee inter school under 19 Twenty20 title while pulling off a thrilling two wicket victory over St. Joseph’s College in the final encounter worked off at the SSC ground in Maitland Place today.

After restricting their opponents to 107 runs from their 20 overs, Trinity College reached their target scoring 111 for 8 with four deliveries to spare and avenged their earlier defeat in the 50 over tournament final against the same opponents.

But this time Trinity College put up a more determined performance on the field and contained the formidable St. Joseph’s batting for a modest 107 runs after they had won the toss and elected to bat first.

The Trinitians never allowed their opponents to settle and picked up wickets at regular intervals through their pace spin combination of Bandara and Aanaz. In fact Bandara struck two early blows while removing both openers cheaply while Aanaz added the finishing touches with two late wickets.

The only significant contributions for St. Joseph’s College came from their captain Rosco Thatil and all-rounder Supechala Jayatilleke with Chaturanga Kumara as the only other batsmen to enter double figures.

Trinity College in their run chase went through some anxious moments against the left arm seam of Dinal Dhambarage who picked up three wickets to win the Best Bowlers Ward.

However Man of the Match Kavinda Jayasuriya steered Trinity College towards their target with a top score of 28 with the back up support coming from Heshan Wanniarachchi and opener Janushka Premasinghe who was named as the Best Batsman.



St. Joseph’s innings

K. Bernardus b Bandara 5
V. Jayasinghe c Jayatunga b Bandara 8
S. Samarawickrema c Prematilleke b Jayasuriya 1
R. Thatil c Wanniarachchi b Premasinghe 22
R. Perera lbw b Aanaz 12
C. Kumara c Baghya b Wanniarachchi
S. Jayatilleke not out 21
D. Dhambarage run out 4
F. Fernando b Aanaz 8
D. Fernandopulle run out 2
A. Fernando not out 0

Extras 11
Total for 9 wickets in 20 overs 107
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-14, 3-21, 4-38, 5-65, 6-71, 7-76, 8-91, 9-106
Bowling: T. Bandara 4-0-25-2, K. Jayasuriya 4-0-6-1, A. Jayasundera 2-0-10-0, A. Aanaz 4-0-24-2, D. Premasinghe 4-0-18-1, H. Wanniarachchi 2-0-15-1

Trinity innings

N. Dickwella c Fernandopulle b Dhambarage 8
D. Serasinghe c Jayatilleke b Dhambarage 27
B. Palihawardena b Perera 0
K. Jayasuriya run out 28
H. Wanniarachchi b Fernando 25
R. Chandraguptha c and b Dhambarage 0
R. Jayatunga b Kumara 14
A. Jayasundera b Kumara 0

T. Bandara not out 0
E. Fernando not out 4
Extras 5

Total for 8 wickets in 19.2 overs 111

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-9, 3-61, 4-66, 5-67, 6-100, 7-107, 8-107, 9-107Bowling: D. Dhambarage 4-0-21-3, P. Perera 3-0-17-0, S. Jayatilleke 4-0-18-0, C. Kumara 4-1-19-2, R. Thatil 4-0-30-0, F. Fernando 0.2-0-4-1


Article by Chris Dhambarage from the Sundayobserver. Image obtained from

Related Posts:


Published 7 years ago

Posted in Cricket, Events, News

facebook youtube email