Sangakkara named as skipper of ICC Test team

Aug - 30 - 2011
T. Weerasooriya

England’s new status as the top team in Test cricket was reflected on Friday when five of their players were named in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test Team of the Year. Sangakkara appears in the team of the year for the second time running.

Batsmen Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott were joined by all-rounder Stuart Broad, fast bowler James Anderson and spinner Graeme Swann, in a side picked by a selection panel chaired by West Indies batting great Clive Lloyd. South African paceman Dale Steyn was selected for the fourth year in a row, while Indian batting master Sachin Tendulkar made his third successive appearance in the line-up.

The Test Team of the Year, was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.  The announcement was made at the media conference to announce the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2011 which are due to be held in London on September 12.

“The team has a formidable line-up that bats well down the order and has bowlers with the ability and form to dismiss any opposition twice on any surface.”

Cook, Trott, Hashim Amla of South Africa and reigning award-holder Tendulkar have also been shortlisted for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award, which will be presented at a ceremony in London in September.

Amla has been nominated for the one-day international version of the award as well, along with Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, Australia’s Shane Watson and Gautam Gambhir of India.

ICC Test team of the Year:

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Jonathan Trott (Eng)

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL – wicketkeeper/captain)

AB de Villiers (SA)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

James Anderson (Eng)

Zaheer Khan (Ind) (12th man)


Sources : and


Related Posts:


Published 7 years ago

Posted in Alumni, Cricket, Events, News, Sports

facebook youtube email