Big Match 2011

Mar - 15 - 2011
H. Seneviratne


The 95th Battle of the Blues ended in a draw at the Katugasthota Oval as Trinity College, Kandy and St. Anthony’s College, Katugasthota went head to head on the 11th and 12th of March.

The Trinity outfit having secured a first innings victory decided against chasing an outright victory as they chose to bat out the final session of play, rather than invite the Anothonians to chase down a target.
The Trinitians taking first lease of the wicket put up a daunting first innings total of 257 in quick time. Opener Niroshan Dickwella made Trinity’s intentions very clear as he scored a brisk 46 inclusive of three boundaries and a couple of hoicks over the rope. However it was Heshan Wanniaarachchi who truly impressed on the first day for Trinity as he scripted an elegant 93 off 216 deliveries. His innings was a treat to watch as he deftly nudged and milked the bowling to all parts of the park and occasionally went for the big shots when the bad balls came along. For the Eagles, Aravinda Premarathne and Saranga Rajaguru picked up five wickets each as they wrapped up Trinity’s first essay soon after tea.

St Anthony’s got off to a decent start against the pace attack of Trinity as they finished the first day’s play on 40 for 1. However a clumsy display of batting on day 2 fueled by a lethal spell of bowling by spinners Aamil Anas and skipper and Sri Lanakn youth cap Akila Jayasundara saw Trinity erase the Anthonian middle order as St Anthony’s lost 4 quick wickets. Thereafter leading batsman Manoj Sarathchandra (31) and Aruna Bandara (24) steadied the ship with some calm batting as St Anthony’s slowly dug themselves out of trouble. However Trinity did eventually finish off the Anthonians for 163 but not before they had eclipsed the 100 run deficit to avoid a follow-on, thereby making the Trinitians bat again.

The Trinitians went into their second innings with a lead of 94 runs with a little over 40 overs of mandatory play remaining. The general consensus was that Trinity would bat until tea and thereafter invite the Anthonians to chase down a target in excess of 120 but that was not to be as Trinity chose the easy way out having secured first innings honors. Then the weather decided to wash the game off leaving Trinity on 107 for the loss of 5 wickets with Bandara top scoring with an unbeaten 23. Aravinda Premarathne struck during regular intervals as he bagged 4 more scalps to finish with a match bag of 9 wickets and took his season tally to 90 wickets.

Even though Premarathne was the most impressive performer, the judges went with Heshan Wanniaarachchi of Trinity College as the Man of the Match for his patient effort during Trinity’s first essay. Needless to say the Lions came out well and truly on top and they were able to retain the Sir Richard Aluwuhare Trophy for yet another year.

The second encounter of the battle of the blues, the limited overs encounter will be held on Friday the 18th of March at the Asgiriya Stadium.


Match Summary:

Trinity College 1st innings 256 all out in 75.5 over’s (Heshan Wanniarachchi 93, Akila Jayasundara 46, Niroshan Dickwella 46, Janishka Premasinghe 24, Aravinda Premeratne 5/85, Saranga Rajaguru 5/84)

St. Anthony’s College 1st innings all out for 163. (Manoj Sarathchandra (31) and Aruna Bandara (24))

Trinity College 2nd innings 107-5. (Bandara (23*))

Rain stopped play and ended the match in a Draw.

The Trinity College Cricket Team for the Big Match

Seated (from left): Tissa Sanjeewa Bandara, Janishka Premasinghe, Kheliya Athugoda, Sampath Perera (Coach), Akila Jayasundera (Captain), Brigadier Udaya Ariyaratne (Principal), Niroshan Dickwella (Vice Captain), A. Vishnuwarthan. (Master In Charge). Kavinda Jayasuriya, Aamil Anas, Heshan Wanniarachchi. Standing: Dinuk Wickremanayake, Tharindu Makuldeniya, Mohammed Shameer, Lakshitha Dissanayake, Amrith Srimohan, Alwin Fernando, Bhagya Palihawadana, S. Sachintha O. Jayasundera, Ron Chandragupta, Madhushan Subendra.

The Big Match 2011 Trinity Parade:

Article Content Reference





Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts Found

Published 13 years ago

Posted in Cricket, Events, News

facebook youtube email